My Favorite Quote of All Times

carl_sagan

“What an astonishing thing a book is. It’s a flat object made from a tree with flexible parts on which are imprinted lots of funny dark squiggles. But one glance at it and you’re inside the mind of another person, maybe somebody dead for thousands of years.

Across the millennia, an author is speaking clearly and silently inside your head, directly to you.

Writing is perhaps the greatest of human inventions, binding together people who never knew each other, citizens of distant epochs. Books break the shackles of time.

A book is proof that humans are capable of working magic.”

[Cosmos, Part 11: The Persistence of Memory (1980)]”

 

C.S. Wilde writes about fantastical worlds, love stories larger than life and epic battles. She also, quite obviously, sucks at writing an author bio. She finds it awkward that she must write this in the third person, and hopes you won’t notice.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fun, Lifestyle, Writing
15 comments on “My Favorite Quote of All Times
  1. djmorand says:

    That’s a good one, I have always liked:

    Where is human nature so weak as in the bookstore?

    –Henry Ward Beecher

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mike says:

    I miss Carl.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joy Pixley says:

    Amazing quote from an amazing man. I also miss him. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Source: My Favorite Quote of All Times […]

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Olga says:

    Amazing quote about how ‘books’ changed humanity years ago and ‘binds’ us together with the magic and power of words. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. livingincyn says:

    That is an all-time excellent quote! Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I wish Carl Sagan was still alive too. I just finished watching Cosmos all over again.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A.B Mood says:

    I remember the first time I read this quote a couple of years ago, I got all teary eyed and hugged the nearest book by my bed ❤ :')

    Like

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. But since you\'re at it, why not subscribe to my mailing list instead? : )

Join 1,298 other subscribers