Ten Things Not To Say To a Writer

Sharing the best of the Twitter Hashtag

 

 

And the one we’ve all heard before:

 

C.S. Wilde writes about fantastical worlds, love stories larger than life and epic battles. She also, quite obviously, sucks at writing an author bio. She finds it awkward that she must write this in the third person, and hopes you wonโ€™t notice.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fun, Lifestyle, Publishing, Things I saw on the Internet, Writing craft
18 comments on “Ten Things Not To Say To a Writer
  1. BunKaryudo says:

    I’m afraid Beau’s comment was the one that made me laugh loudest and longest. Now I’m a bit worried about what that says about me.

    Like

  2. I am in awe of all people who write. I have difficulty writing 500 word or less posts for my blog. I cant imagine the sheer amount of work it must be to fill a whole novel with words.

    Like

  3. That last one by Pat Rothfuss; it’s funny but people say that to me all the time…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “What is your book about?” Ha! That’s probably the most easiest yet surprisingly nerve-testing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. erika kettle says:

    Have you ever talked about your writing dreams with super practical people? I have! And they’re always eager to help me thinking up better career choices, because no one can support themselves writing anyway!

    Yeah…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. djmorand says:

    HAHA, this is great. I lost it at “I hope your spouse earns well.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Fabulous list – thanks for sharing. My most common reaction (and the one that rankles the most) – nothing – complete blank and change of subject. It seems most people either don’t want to know that I’m a writer, or don’t know what to say. Oh well ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Reblogged this on Emily Arden, author and commented:
    Fabulous list – thanks to CS WIlde for sharing. This #TenThingsNotToSayToAWriter hash tag conversation is great.
    The most common reaction I come across (and the one that rankles the most) – nothing – complete blank and change of subject. It seems most people either don’t want to know that I’m a writer, or don’t know what to say. Oh well ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  9. A.B Mood says:

    That last one :’D

    Liked by 1 person

  10. amaya911 says:

    Ha ha! I’ve actually been told a couple of those!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. It’s absolutely true!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ahdad says:

    So I get it. Writing is easy. Good writing is damn hard… Noted. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. But since you're at it, why not subscribe to my mailing list instead? : )

Join 1,323 other followers

